Friday, November 20, 2015

My So-Called Book Reviews Has Moved to WordPress!!!!!

That’s right, My So-Called Book Reviews has moved to WordPress and I couldn’t be more excited!! If you’ve noticed that things have been a little quiet around here lately it's because I was secretly getting my new blog all set up and learning how to use WordPress and the Ultimate Book Blogger (UBB) Plugin. It took a little getting used to but lucky for me I had some wonderful help and I must say that WP & UBB are amazing and I'm in love with my new blog! I really hope that all of you will continue to follow me and that you’ll come check out my new home :) 

I can't wait to hear what you all think and to celebrate I’m hosting a fabulous giveaway that you won’t want to miss! So come on over, enter my giveaway and let me know what you think of the brand new My So-Called Book Reviews 

Hope to see you there :)


 
Monday, November 2, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins

http://www.rockstarbooktours.com/2015/10/tour-schedule-until-we-meet-again-by.html
Welcome to my tour stop for Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins! Hailed as "The Time Travelers Wife for teens" this new YA novel is packed with time travel, mystery and romance. The tour runs from October 26th thru November 6th and consists of reviews, excerpts and interviews. There is also a tour-wide giveaway for some really awesome prizes so be sure to stop by any or all of the stops for your chance to win! Please visit the tour page for all the details & to follow the tour and don't forget to enter the Giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win!!!

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Spectacle by S.J. Pierce

Welcome to my tour stop for Spectacle, a spellbinding new Young Adult, Science-Fiction novel by bestselling author Susan James Pierce! The Spectacle tour runs from October 26th thru 31st and consists of reviews, excerpts and a totally awesome tour wide Giveaway you don't want to miss out on! Head over to the tour page to get all the details & to follow the Spectacle tour and don't forget to enter the Giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win 1 of 10 eCopies of Spectacle!!!
Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Welcome Back Jack by Liam Sweeny

Welcome to my tour stop for Welcome Back Jack by Liam Sweeny, the first book of his new Jack LeClere Thriller series! Sweeny has writen a dark & gritty police thriller that will have you following Jack as he hunts down a killer. This tour runs from October 8th - 29th and consists of reviews as well as author & book spotlights! Check out the tour page for all the details and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win one of five signed copies of Welcome Back Jack!!!
Monday, October 26, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Dead Lies by Cybele Loening

DeadLies_Banner
Welcome to my tour stop for Dead Lies by Cybele Loening! In her debut novel, Loening has written an intriguing mystery novel surrounding murder and long held family secrets! The Dead Lies tour runs from October 22nd thru 30th with reviews, interviews, guest posts and excerpts. As a special treat you can read free chapters from the book at DeadLiesBook.com! Head over to the tour page for more information and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of my post for your chance to win one of five audio-book copies of Dead Lies!!!
Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Here They Lie by D'Ann Burrow

 Welcome to my tour stop for Here They Lie by D'Ann Burrows, the first book in her new The Bloodstone Legacy series! This New Adult, Southern Gothic tale surrounds three families and a secret that refuses to stay buried. Winner of the Young Adult Romance Writer's 2014 award for New Adult Fiction, Here They Lie is a novel you don't want to miss! This is a reviews only tour which runs from October 5th - 10th. You can check out the tour page for all the details and be sure to enter the contest at the end of this post for your chance to win one of four fabulous prizes!!
Monday, September 28, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel

http://www.rockstarbooktours.com/2015/09/tour-schedule-faceless-by-alyssa-b.html
Welcome to my tour stop for Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel! In her most recent novel, Sheimel has written an emotionally gripping tale of how we choose to define ourselves. This tour runs from September 21st thru October 2nd and consists of reviews, interviews, excerpts and guest posts for your enjoyment! You can check out and follow the tour page for all of the details and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win a copy of Faceless!  
Sunday, September 27, 2015

Blog Tour Review ~ Taking on Water by David Rawding

Welcome to my tour stop for Taking on Water by David Rawding! In his first novel, author David Rawding has written a tight psychological thriller surrounding two families and the dark secrets they hide. This tour runs from September 16th - 30th and consists of reviews, interviews and guest posts for your enjoyment! Check out the tour page for all the details and to follow the tour!


Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ What Makes it Worthy by David Paul Kuhn

Welcome to my tour stop for What Makes it Worthy by David Paul Kuhn! As a Political Analyst, Kuhn has written "perhaps the most accurate depiction yet written about how the relationship between the media and the modern presidential campaign shapes American politics". This tour runs from September 17th thru October 15th and consists of reviews, spotlights, and some incredible interviews! Check out the tour page for more information and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card from the author!
Monday, September 21, 2015

Blog Tour Review ~ Diverging Cadence (Book 2) by Katie Hamstead

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Katie Hamstead 
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publishers: REUT-S Publications
Publication Date: 08-25-15               Pages: 282
When Cadence Anderson woke to find her husband and infant daughter had been killed, she thought her life was over. Instead, she was offered a second chance and sent back in time to do it all again.

She’s made the most of this opportunity, repairing her relationship with the best friend she lost the first time, avoiding the romantic mistakes she made originally, and even bringing her family closer together. But she’s also done something she wasn’t planning on—she’s fallen in love with someone other than her future husband.

Stepping onto a plane and flying across country to attend university is the hardest decision she’s had to make. But unless she follows through with it, her future with Austin might never happen. And what becomes of her beautiful baby if she stays with James, the man she was never supposed to love?

The only thing she knows for certain is that she has to see Austin again, and she’s intent on reliving that part of her previous life exactly like she did the first time. Even if that means she has to lie to James to do it. Because, deep down, she can’t quite bring herself to let him go.

Now, past and future are about to collide, and Cadence has to make her final choice—follow the uncertain path of a life with James, or the one she came back to save . . . with Austin.

In this emotional conclusion to the story that began in Deceptive Cadence, relationships will be tested, identities revealed, and the past will overshadow the future, putting the finishing touches on an unforgettable tale of courage, sacrifice, and, above all, love.


Thursday, September 17, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ All the Wrong Ways by M.M. Charles

Welcome to my tour stop for All the Wrong Ways by M.M. Charles! In her second novel, indie author M.M. Charles tackles the ultimate case of "he said, she said"; the result is a stunningly dark thriller that you won't want to miss! This tour runs from September 16th - 23rd and consists of reviews, interviews and spotlights for your enjoyment. Check out the tour page for more information and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win a signed paperback copy of All the Wrong Ways!

Friday, September 11, 2015

Feature & Follow Friday (8) Undiscovered Talent

http://www.alisoncanread.com/2015/09/feature-and-follow-friday-270.html
Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday, a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful bloggers, Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of this blog hop is to gain followers, discover new blogs, and make new friends! What makes this blog hop different than others (and the reason I chose to link up) is that each week both hosts showcase a "Featured Blogger" ~ what a great way to get to know bloggers from different genres and areas!!
Wednesday, September 9, 2015

ARC Review & Author Interview ~ The Girl Without a Name by Sandra Block

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Sandra Block
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Audio
Publishers: Grand Central Publishing 
Publication Date: 09-08-15                Pages: 368 
Another gripping pageturner featuring psychiatrist Zoe Goldman, the protagonist from Little Black Lies.

In what passes for an ordinary day in a psych ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is stumped when a highly unusual case arrives. A young African American girl, found wandering the streets of Buffalo in a catatonic state, is brought in by police. No one has come forward to claim her, and all leads have been exhausted, so Zoe's treatment is the last hope to discover the girl's identity.

When drugs prove ineffective and medical science seems to be failing, Zoe takes matters into her own hands to track down Jane Doe's family and piece together their checkered history. As she unearths their secrets, she finds that monsters hide where they are least expected. And now she must solve the mystery before it is too late. Because someone wants to make sure this young girl never remembers.

The Girl Without a Name is a powerful novel of memory and forgetting, of unexpected friendship and understanding...and of the secrets we protect no matter the consequences.

Monday, September 7, 2015

Review ~ Wildflower by Janine Carbone

Rating: 3/5 Stars
Author: Janine Carbone
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Hardcover
Publishers: Kismet Books
Publication Date: 01-01-15              Pages: 200 
Faith desperately tries to hold on and fit into the mold of the "typical" college student, but her life quickly spirals out of control when visions of a dark past consume her.

When these repressed memories begin to resurface, she relives the devastation of dealing with abandonment, death and betrayal. Faith soon realizes she never did escape the dangers of the past, and that her battles are real and present. With a sadistic stalker lurking around campus while she painfully struggles to hold onto her newfound romance, Faith finds herself fighting to survive all over again.

Sunday, September 6, 2015

Blog Tour Review ~ Seeing Evil by Jason Parent

Welcome to my tour stop for Seeing Evil by Jason Parent! In his second novel, Jason Parent flawlessly blends a bit of paranormal into his psychological thriller; the result is something you'll want to read for yourself! This tour runs from September 2nd - 16th and consists of reviews, guest posts, spotlights and interviews. You can check out all the details and get more information on the tour page!
Friday, September 4, 2015

Feature & Follow Friday (7) Movies I Wish Were Books First!

Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday, a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful bloggers, Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of this blog hop is to gain followers, discover new blogs, and make new friends! What makes this blog hop different than others (and the reason I chose to link up) is that each week both hosts showcase a "Featured Blogger" ~ what a great way to get to know bloggers from different genres and areas!!
Thursday, September 3, 2015

Review ~ Follow You Home by Mark Edwards

Rating: 4/5 Stars
Author: Mark Edwards
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Audio
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer 
Publication Date: 06-30-15            Pages: 402 
It was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime, a final adventure before settling down.

After a perfect start, Daniel and Laura’s travels end abruptly when they are thrown off a night train in the middle of nowhere. To find their way back to civilisation, they must hike along the tracks through a forest…a haunting journey that ends in unimaginable terror.

Back in London, Daniel and Laura vow never to talk about what they saw that night. But as they try to fit back into their old lives, it becomes clear that their nightmare is just beginning…

Follow You Home is a chilling tale of secrets, lies and deadly consequences from the author of #1 bestsellers The Magpies and Because She Loves Me.


Wednesday, September 2, 2015

ARC Review ~ The Foxglove Killings by Tara Kelly

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Tara Kelly
Available Formats: eBook & Hardcover
Publishers: Entangled Teen Publishing 
Publication Date: 09-01-15              Pages: 320
Gramps always said that when the crickets were quiet, something bad was coming. And the crickets have been as silent as the dead. It started with the murdered deer in the playground with the unmistakable purple of a foxglove in its mouth. But in the dying boondock town of Emerald Cove, life goes on.

I work at Gramps's diner, and the cakes―the entitled rich kids who vacation here―make our lives hell. My best friend, Alex Pace, is the one person who gets me. Only Alex has changed. He's almost like a stranger now. I can't figure it out...or why I'm having distinctly more-than-friend feelings for him. Ones I shouldn't be having.

Then one of the cakes disappears. 

When she turns up murdered, a foxglove in her mouth, a rumor goes around that Alex was the last person seen with her—and everyone but me believes it. Well, everyone except my worst enemy, Jenika Shaw. When Alex goes missing, it's up to us to prove his innocence and uncover the true killer. But the truth will shatter everything I've ever known about myself — and Alex.


Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Release Day Blitz & Giveaway ~ Settling by Rachel Michael Arends

Settling banner
Welcome to the Settling Release Day Blitz!! Today we are celebrating the release of Rachel Michael Arends’ fantastic new Women’s Fiction novel. She’s also sharing an exclusive excerpt with us, as well as a really great giveaway so please be sure to check it out and grab your copy of this amazing book today!!
Monday, August 31, 2015

Review ~ The Felix Chronicles: Freshmen by R.T. Lowe

Rating: 5/5 Starts
Author: R.T. Lowe
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: 05-20-15                  Pages: 494
Reeling from a terrible accident that claimed the lives of his parents, Felix arrives at Portland College hoping only to survive the experience. In time, however, his reality star roommate shows him there is more to higher education than just classes, shared bathrooms and bad dorm food, and Felix gradually dares to believe he can put his past behind him. But a fateful storm looms on the horizon: In the nearby woods, two hikers become the latest victims in a series of gruesome murders; a disfigured giant embarks on a vicious cross-country rampage, killing teenagers who fail his 'test'; and an ancient society of assassins tasked with eradicating the wielders of a mysterious source of power awakens after a long silence. Only one man--the school's groundskeeper--knows that the seemingly unrelated events are connected, and that an eighteen-year-old boy stands in the center of the storm.

Saturday, August 29, 2015

Run (Charlotte Marshall Mysteries Book 1) by Becky Johnson

Rating: 3/5 Stars
Author: Becky Johnson
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: 06-11-14                  Pages:  198
A decades old mystery and a deadly game of cat and mouse will change Charlotte Marshall forever. 

Charlotte has a good life: friends, family, a successful career. Her perfect life is destroyed when research for a book and a connection from her past plunges her into the middle of her worst nightmare. On the run, with no one to trust, Charlotte begins to unravel the work of a sadistic murderer. Afraid and alone, she will learn the meaning of trust and just when to run.


Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway ~ Mind Over Bullies: A Mob Forms by D.K. Smith

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: D.K. Smith
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: Khamicom Publishing
Publication Date: 08-31-15             Pages: 380
People that feel bullied just need to toughen up. That’s what Margo Rios used to think. Margo is pretty, popular and unsympathetic to just how intense bullying can get. As a counterfeiting plot sweeps through the city of Oak View, life for Margo will change dramatically.

With a mystery unfolding, an unlikely group of heroes emerges. Bullied teens love them, the police hate them and bullies fear them. Together they will try to get to the bottom of the counterfeiting mystery while ingeniously teaching a few bullies a lesson or two along the way… that is, if the police don’t catch them first.

“Mind Over Bullies: A MOB Forms” follows the lives of several teens chronicling the emotional and psychological changes they experience as a result of their encounters with bullying. The lives of the characters play out while an elaborate counterfeiting mystery unfolds making for a fast paced, action-packed read.  
Preview the book & read the first 3 chapters here!
Monday, August 24, 2015

Review ~ Horns by Joe Hill

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Joe Hill
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Hardcover, Audio
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: 01-30-10                        Pages: 446
Ignatius Perrish spent the night drunk and doing terrible things. He woke up the next morning with a thunderous hangover, a raging headache . . . and a pair of horns growing from his temples. 

At first Ig thought the horns were a hallucination, the product of a mind damaged by rage and grief. He had spent the last year in a lonely, private purgatory, following the death of his beloved, Merrin Williams, who was raped and murdered under inexplicable circumstances. A mental breakdown would have been the most natural thing in the world. But there was nothing natural about the horns, which were all too real.

Once the righteous Ig had enjoyed the life of the blessed: born into privilege, the second son of a renowned musician and younger brother of a rising late-night TV star, he had security, wealth, and a place in his community. Ig had it all, and more—he had Merrin and a love founded on shared daydreams, mutual daring, and unlikely midsummer magic.

But Merrin's death damned all that. The only suspect in the crime, Ig was never charged or tried. And he was never cleared. In the court of public opinion in Gideon, New Hampshire, Ig is and always will be guilty because his rich and connected parents pulled strings to make the investigation go away. Nothing Ig can do, nothing he can say, matters. Everyone, it seems, including God, has abandoned him. Everyone, that is, but the devil inside. . . .

Now Ig is possessed of a terrible new power to go with his terrible new look—a macabre talent he intends to use to find the monster who killed Merrin and destroyed his life. Being good and praying for the best got him nowhere. It's time for a little revenge. . . . It's time the devil had his due. . . .


Saturday, August 22, 2015

Promo Tour & Giveaway ~ Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino

 Welcome to the Before We Were Strangers Promo Tour! Today we are celebrating the release of Renee Carlino's New Adult/Contemporary Romance novel with an exclusive excerpt for you to enjoy. If you've been living under a rock somewhere and haven't yet heard of this amazing book then be sure to check out all the details below! This Promo includes a giveaway of 5 signed Before We Were Strangers posters so if you'd like a chance to win, be sure to enter!

Friday, August 21, 2015

Feature & Follow Friday (6) If I could have this animal.......

Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday, a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful bloggers, Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of this blog hop is to gain followers, discover new blogs, and make new friends! What makes this blog hop different than others (and the reason I chose to link up) is that each week both hosts showcase a "Featured Blogger" ~ what a great way to get to know bloggers from different genres and areas!!

Review ~ Wash Me Away by Wendy Owens

Rating: 3/5 Stars
Author: Wendy Owens
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing 
Publication Date:  04-24-15               Pages:  280
Monsters have a way of following you.

Immersed in a new world at boarding school, Addy Buckley learns she’s not the only one with secrets. While trying to navigate the minefield of painful lies that seem to be rattling around her family’s past, she meets soft on the eyes and heavy on the heart, Napoleon Blake.

When faced with the darkness, Addy must decide to cling to her new life and friends or let the monster carry her away. The choice is hers, sink or swim.

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Book Blitz & Giveaway ~ Harriet Wolf's Seventh Book of Wonders by Julianna Baggott

2

Welcome to the HARRIET WOLF'S SEVENTH BOOK OF WONDERS Book Blitz! Today we are celebrating the release of Julianna Baggott's new Historical Fiction/Family Saga novel with an exclusive excerpt for you to enjoy! If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book then be sure to check out all the details below. This Blitz also includes a giveaway for 5 Hardcover copies of the book courtesy of Little Brown, and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win then make sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post!

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway ~ Her Sister's Shoes by Ashley Farley

Her Sister's Shoes cover
Rating: 4/5 Stars
Author: Ashley Farley
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publication Date: 06-24-15                   Pages: 384
Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Dot Frank and Mary Alice Monroe, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

Add to Goodreads badge 
Monday, August 17, 2015

Review ~ Normal by Graeme Cameron

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Graeme Cameron
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Hardcover, Audio
Publisher: MIRA  
Publication Date: 03-31-15                Pages: 304
"The truth is I hurt people. It's what I do. It's all I do. It's all I've ever done."

He lives in your community, in a nice house with a well-tended garden. He shops in your grocery store, bumping shoulders with you and apologizing with a smile. He drives beside you on the highway, politely waving you into the lane ahead of him.

What you don't know is that he has an elaborate cage built into a secret basement under his garage. And the food that he's carefully shopping for is to feed a young woman he's holding there against her will—one in a string of many, unaware of the fate that awaits her.

This is how it's been for a long time. It's normal... and it works. Perfectly.

Then he meets the checkout girl from the 24-hour grocery. And now the plan, the hunts, the room... the others. He doesn't need any of them anymore. He needs only her. But just as he decides to go straight, the police start to close in. He might be able to cover his tracks, except for one small problem—he still has someone trapped in his garage.

Discovering his humanity couldn't have come at a worse time.


Sunday, August 16, 2015

Review ~ Baby Please Don't Go by Frank Freudberg

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Frank Freudberg
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: Inside Job Media
Publication Date: 05-06-15                  Pages: 332 
ALL LOCK GILKENNEY WANTS IS A FAMILY.

BUT HE’LL HAVE TO CROSS THE LINE TO GET ONE.

Lock is a dedicated investigator at Child Protective Services. An anonymous report of neglect comes in. He responds and finds the kids in good health. Lock concludes the report was a ruse, possibly part of a scheme to make Natalie Mannheim—the kids’ mother—look bad in an upcoming divorce trial. 

Natalie needs Lock’s expertise to help her win custody—and a multi-million-dollar divorce settlement. He realizes she doesn't have a prayer in court against her shrewd husband, and only Lock can help her now. 

Lock knows all about addiction, and he’s aware of the powerful hold Natalie has on him. But he can’t get her out of his head. Lock is caught between his commitment to take the high road and his burning desire to have a family. In this story of love, lust, deceit and murder, what Lock chooses to do will grab your imagination and never let go. 

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Blog Tour Review ~ Women in Red by Jordan Rosenfeld

Welcome to my tour stop for Women in Red by Jordan Rosenfeld! This dark psychological thriller full of sensuous secrets & dirty lies is not for the faint of heart. This tour runs from August 12th - August 21st and includes reviews, interviews and guest posts. Visit the tour page for the complete schedule!

Friday, August 14, 2015

Book Blitz & Giveaway ~ A Killing Among Friends by Toni Morrow Wyatt

Welcome to the A Killing Among Friends Book Blitz!! Today we are celebrating the release of Toni Morrow Wyatt's new YA Mystery/Thriller/Suspense novel and I'm really excited about this one. I received my review copy last week & it sounds amazing and definitely creepy! The Book Blitz will be running from Aug 11th - 15th and will include excerpts, guest posts and Q&A's for your enjoyment. Please check out the tour page for more information and be sure to enter BOTH giveaways at the end of this post. The first is a blitz-wide giveaway for a chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card (INTL). The second is a blog only giveaway for a chance to win an eBook copy of A Killing Among Friends

Feature & Follow Friday (5) ~ Endless Food Supply

Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday, a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful bloggers, Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of this blog hop is to gain followers, discover new blogs, and make new friends! What makes this blog hop different than others (and the reason I wanted to link up) is that each week both hosts showcase a "Featured Blogger" ~ what a great way to get to know bloggers from different genres and areas!!


Thursday, August 13, 2015

Blog Tour ~ Come Sit By Me by Thomas Hoobler

Welcome to my tour stop for Come Sit By Me by Thomas Hoobler! This is a gritty, Young Adult novel that tackles the alarming, real world epidemic of school shootings. This tour runs from August 3rd - 14th with reviews, guest posts, interviews and excerpts. I've already reviewed this book on my blog which can be found here but when I contacted Kellie at Booktrope and asked if I could still participate in the tour in some way she graciously provided me a fantastic excerpt for you lovely readers to enjoy!
Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway ~ Family Magic (Hayle Coven Novels #1) by Patti Larsen

 FamilyMagicBanner
Welcome to my tour stop for Family Magic by Patti Larsen! This is a young adult paranormal novel that won 1st place in World's Best Story contest and is published by Premiere. The tour runs August 3rd-31st with reviews as well as author interviews and guest posts. Check out the tour page for more information and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post for your chance to win a paperback copy of Family Magic!

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway ~ The Lakeview Series by Stacey R. Campbell


LAKEVIEW SERIES
Welcome to my tour stop for The Lakeview Series by Stacey R. Campbell!  This is a Young Adult/Mystery series and the tour runs from August 3rd -14th with reviews, interviews, guest posts and excerpts. Check out the tour page for the full schedule and make sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post!!

Monday, August 10, 2015

ARC Review & Excerpt ~ Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Julia Heaberlin 
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Hardback, Audio
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Publication Date: 08-11-15                Pages: 369
Purchase ~ Amazon                               Add ~ Goodreads
I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories.
I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans.
The lucky one. 

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

Friday, August 7, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway ~ Miss Mabel's School for Girls, The Network Series Book 1 by Katie Cross

TheNetworkSeriesBanner

Welcome to my tour stop for The Network Series by Katie Cross!  The Network Series is a young adult fantasy and the tour runs July 27 – August 7 with reviews only. Check out the tour page for more information. I will be reviewing all three books in the series starting today with book 1, Miss Mabel's School for Girls. Be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this review!
Monday, July 27, 2015

Book Blitz ~ Overcoming Anxiety by David Berndt

Welcome to the Overcoming Anxiety Book Blitz! Today we are celebrating the release of Psychologist David Berndt, Ph.D. new self-help book about gaining relief from anxiety. Overcoming Anxiety is the first in a series of books that will deal with psychological problems that Dr. Berndt plans to release over 2015 and 2016. Read on to find out all the details about this fabulous new book and its author!
Friday, July 24, 2015

ARC Review: Somebody I Used to Know by David Bell

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: David Bell
Available Formats: eBook, Paperback, Audio
Publisher: Penguin Group Berkely, NAL 
Publication Date: 07-07-15                Pages: 432
Purchase ~ Amazon                               Add ~ Goodreads
When Nick Hansen sees the young woman at the grocery store, his heart stops. She is the spitting image of his college girlfriend, Marissa Minor, who died in a campus house fire twenty years earlier. But when Nick tries to speak to her, she acts skittish and rushes off.

The next morning the police arrive at Nick’s house and show him a photo of the woman from the store. She’s been found dead, murdered in a local motel, with Nick’s name and address on a piece of paper in her pocket.

Convinced there's a connection between the two women, Nick enlists the help of his college friend Laurel Davidson to investigate the events leading up to the night of Marissa’s death. But the young woman’s murder is only the beginning...and the truths Nick uncovers may make him wish he never doubted the lies.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

ARC Review ~ The Bones of You by Debbie Howells

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Debbie Howells
Available Formats: eBook, Hardback
Publisher: Kensignton Publishing 
Publication Date: 06-30-15                         Pages: 320
Purchase ~ Amazon                             Add ~ Goodreads
A stunning, wonderfully assured psychological thriller that evokes Gillian Flynn and Alice Sebold, The Bones of You revolves around a young girl’s murder and one woman’s obsession with uncovering the secrets in an idyllic English village.

I have a gardener’s inherent belief in the natural order of things. Soft‑petalled flowers that go to seed. The resolute passage of the seasons. Swallows that fly thousands of miles to follow the eternal summer.

Children who don’t die before their parents.

When Kate receives a phone call with news that Rosie Anderson is missing, she’s stunned and disturbed. Rosie is eighteen, the same age as Kate’s daughter, and a beautiful, quiet, and kind young woman. Though the locals are optimistic—girls like Rosie don’t get into real trouble—Kate’s sense of foreboding is confirmed when Rosie is found fatally beaten and stabbed.

Who would kill the perfect daughter, from the perfect family? Yet the more Kate entwines herself with the Andersons—graceful mother Jo, renowned journalist father Neal, watchful younger sister Delphine—the more she is convinced that not everything is as it seems. Anonymous notes arrive, urging Kate to unravel the tangled threads of Rosie’s life and death, though she has no idea where they will lead.

Weaving flashbacks from Rosie’s perspective into a tautly plotted narrative, The Bones of You is a gripping, haunting novel of sacrifices and lies, desperation and love
Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Deceptive Cadence by Katie Hamstead

Welcome to my tour stop for Deceptive Cadence by Katie Hamstead! This is the first in a two book YA/NA Magical Realism series. This tour runs from June 30th - July 28th and includes reviews, author info, a really awesome giveaway and a special trailer! 

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Review ~ Come Winter by Clare Gutierrez

Rating: 3/5 Stars
Author: Clare Gutierrez
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group 
Publication Date: 03-17-15                Pages: 411
Purchase ~ Amazon                         Add ~ Goodreads
The adventures of a lowly maidservant, a disguised fugitive, a savior to the poor and endangered, and a queen.

Such is the paradox of Lady Caterina Tabor, an extraordinary young girl who, en route to England, finds herself captured and at the mercy of a stern and powerful lord. Forced to work as a common kitchen maid in the dank halls of Dermoth Castle, Caty dreams of her past as a free and autonomous maiden with a bright future in the English courts—did fate have other plans?

This early trial is but the first in a litany of shocking tribulations; imprisoned, abused, accused of sorcery, and kidnapped, Caty’s life is for so long anything but charmed—but you can’t keep a soaring heart shackled. As we follow this misunderstood maiden’s journey through both the unexpected, electrifying joys of new love and the pain of mind-boggling adversity, we become eyewitnesses to the astonishing way she not only transforms herself but also enchants, inspires, and invigorates those around her.

Spanning decades of castle life, treacherous journeys, bloody battles, and heartache, Come Winter is a sweeping yet personal tale of a brave woman who at once embodies and transcends the prescribed, and oftentimes oppressive, roles her society demands. Let Clare Gutierrez (author of Dancing with the Boss) curate your voyage back to the Scottish highlands of ages past—a time and place in which simply staying alive constituted a noble adventure, and becoming a patron of the oppressed and the impoverished could make you a hallowed queen.
Friday, July 17, 2015

Blog Tour Review, Author Interview & Giveaway ~ The Secrets We Keep by Stephanie Butland


Rating: 4/5 Stars
Author: Stephanie Butland
Available Formats: eBook & Paperback
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark 
Publication Date: 07-07-15                Pages: 384
Purchase ~ Amazon                               Add ~ Goodreads 
A tragic accident, a broken heart, and a marriage drowning in secrets...

Mike always walks the dog in the evening while Elizabeth relaxes in the bathtub--but one night he doesn’t come back. Mike has drowned while saving a teenage girl named Kate, his dog standing on the bank barking frantically as the police pull his body from the water.

But despite her husband being lauded as a hero, Elizabeth can’t wrap her mind around the fact that Mike is gone--and Kate won’t reveal the details of what really happened that night. 

Elizabeth finds herself facing the unfathomable possibility that she may not have known her husband at all. Does she really want to know the truth? Or will the weight of Mike’s secrets pull her under?
Thursday, July 16, 2015

ARC Review ~ Come Sit By Me by Thomas Hoobler

Rating: 5/5 Stars
Author: Thomas Hoobler
Available Formats: eBook
Publisher: Booktrope 
Publication Date:         
Pages: 218
Add ~ Goodreads 
The boy who shot seven people in the school library is dead. But did his secrets die with him?

 Something terrible happened at Hamilton High last year, and those who survived don't want to relive the past. But Paul has just arrived, and gets the same locker that the shooter used. He wants to know what really happened...and you know what curiosity did to the cat.
Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Book Blast Tour, Review & Giveaway ~ Center of Gravity by Laura McNeill

Welcome to the Virtual Book Blast Tour for Center of Gravity, an amazing new fictional suspense novel by author Laura McNeill available July 15th, 2015!! This Book Blast includes the blurb, my review, an excerpt, author bio, as well as an awesome giveaway! Check out all the details on the tour page